Back…

January 10, 2007

Waheguru Ji Ka Khalsa Waheguru Ji Ki Fateh!

I would like to thank all of you who sent me emails and called me to find out if everything was alright and why I did not update the blog.

I am doing perfectly fine, I was not sure what to blog about as I had been busy inMalaysia for most of december.

The Samelan was awsome!

The organizers made some changes that made the samelan really interesting. Participants who were around my age went through a leadership course. The course was conducted by Sikhs who have made it big in the coproate world. In addition to the leadership course, we also discussed about how we should handle situations were some one hurls a racial abuse at us, how do we explain about out the significane of physical roop, etc.

The leadership course gave us the opportunity to interact with our peers from all over the world and to interact with the speakers as well. It was really interesting to interact with all of them, I got to learn a lot.

Chardi Kala Jatha came to the samelan for two days, they sang very well. There has been a drastic improvement in their vocals. Kudos to them! I shall upload some kirtan done by them in a few days.

After the samelan, I was busy with the new years kirtan durbar and then I was in Malaysia for the weekend again. I bought some books.
The Sikh Faith: Questions and Answers by Dr Gurbaksh Singh, is an amazing book. I have read more than half the book and I must say it clears up so many misconceptions, its a must read for anyone who wants to understand the Sikh Faith.

I shall share some abstracts from the book in the next post.

The other books I bought are:

Bhagats- Saints of the Guru Granth Sahib – Shamsher Singh Puri

The Sikh Tree As The Same Grew – Jagjit Singh

In addition, a very kind sould sent me Prof. Sahib Singh ji’s autobiography and the explaination of the banis’s of all the Bhagats. I plan to spend the next few months reading these books.

Reeaz is going well, Master ji is making me play some advanced compositions and they are taking a lot of time. I just got to keep on going.

Guru Ang Sang!

Angad Singh

Leave a comment